Lightroom 3 Only Shows RAW after JPEG/RAW Import

Photoshop, RAW converters and photo management? Editing movie clips? Discuss it all here!

Moderators: Bob Andersson, Thomas, Bjorn van Sinttruije

Lightroom 3 Only Shows RAW after JPEG/RAW Import

Postby HikingMike » Tue May 29, 2012 1:35 am

When I do a import into Lightroom and was shooting JPEG/RAW, I only see the RAW files. For most of the time this is fine but sometimes the shoot may not have been important or I'm in a hurry. I have a shooting preference set on my JPEGs so there is some adjustments made during the save (sharping, saturation, contrast) That I'm pretty happy with. How do I get to them thru Lightroom. If I'm in a rush sometimes I just want to export them and get them on to a CD fast.
Mike "The Squirrel"
Canon 550D | Canon EF 35mm 1:2 | Canon 50 f/1.8 II | Sigma 18-125mm DC OS | Tamron SP 70-300mm Di VC USD | Canon 430EX II
Military Issued Canon 40D | Canon 55-250mm IS
User avatar
HikingMike
 
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:15 pm
Location: Kanduhar, Afghanistan

Re: Lightroom 3 Only Shows RAW after JPEG/RAW Import

Postby HikingMike » Tue May 29, 2012 2:13 am

Oh also, what about controlling how much zoom? I can click and get 100% and then back but I can't find anything in between :|
Mike "The Squirrel"
Canon 550D | Canon EF 35mm 1:2 | Canon 50 f/1.8 II | Sigma 18-125mm DC OS | Tamron SP 70-300mm Di VC USD | Canon 430EX II
Military Issued Canon 40D | Canon 55-250mm IS
User avatar
HikingMike
 
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:15 pm
Location: Kanduhar, Afghanistan

Re: Lightroom 3 Only Shows RAW after JPEG/RAW Import

Postby Maestro » Tue May 29, 2012 4:20 am

OK, quick things first: do you have "Treat JPEGs next to RAWs as separate photos" checked in your Preferences (General tab)? If not, checking that will do what you want, but be aware that it will do this for every import (unless/until you uncheck it again). Personally, if it's only occasionally that you want both RAWs and JPEGs, I would copy them to separate folders on the hard drive first, and then Import (Add) from there. (Since the files are no longer "next to" each other, the above setting will not apply.)

There are two ways to control zoom level in the Library module:

The Navigator (in the upper left corner) has buttons for: Fit, Fill, 1:1 and a popup pick list (the two arrows) that goes from 1:4 to 11:1

And in Loupe view (single picture), there's a Zoom slider on the toolbar beneath the image. (If it's not there, click the down arrow on the right end of the toolbar and check "Zoom".)

Mark
Maestro
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:29 am

Re: Lightroom 3 Only Shows RAW after JPEG/RAW Import

Postby MrCliff » Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:48 am

can click and get 100% and then back but I can't find anything in between


In Lr4, there is a "navigator" in the upper left corner. To the right of the word navigator, there is a line saying FIT FILL 1:1 1:3 then an up/down arrow. Click on 1:3 and your zoom click in the main image gives 1:3. Use the up or down arrow and select another zoom. Click on the main image and it zooms by the selected amount. Hope this helps for Lr3!
Photo Taker for ~30 years.
Books: The Art of Photography- Barnbaum, Photographically Speaking- duChemin.
@Clifford Rourke on Twitter, Clifford Rourke on Google Plus

How 2 the signature below?
In your profile signature, click on BBCode ( linked under options ) and read up!

___________________

Visit MrCliff on Flickr
___________________
User avatar
MrCliff
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:42 am
Location: Western Mojave

Re: Lightroom 3 Only Shows RAW after JPEG/RAW Import

Postby HikingMike » Mon Jun 04, 2012 8:43 pm

"Treat JPEGs next to RAWs as separate photos"

Cool, now I understand, thanks

There are two ways to control zoom level in the Library module:

The Navigator (in the upper left corner) has buttons for: Fit, Fill, 1:1 and a popup pick list (the two arrows) that goes from 1:4 to 11:1

And in Loupe view (single picture), there's a Zoom slider on the toolbar beneath the image. (If it's not there, click the down arrow on the right end of the toolbar and check "Zoom".)

Ok, I found it in Navigator but could not find what you mean Loupe view. What I was looking for was while in Develop. The Navigator works but I was hoping for something easier because I generally have the Navigator minimized while in Develop. But hey, it gets me where I need :D Thanks to all of you!
Mike "The Squirrel"
Canon 550D | Canon EF 35mm 1:2 | Canon 50 f/1.8 II | Sigma 18-125mm DC OS | Tamron SP 70-300mm Di VC USD | Canon 430EX II
Military Issued Canon 40D | Canon 55-250mm IS
User avatar
HikingMike
 
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:15 pm
Location: Kanduhar, Afghanistan

Re: Lightroom 3 Only Shows RAW after JPEG/RAW Import

Postby Maestro » Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:54 pm

While in the Develop module (and Loupe view) with Panels hidden:

Image

Note the down arrow on the right end of the toolbar which pops up the menu as shown; when Zoom is checked on the popup menu, the slider shows up on the left (circled).

Mark
Maestro
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:29 am

Re: Lightroom 3 Only Shows RAW after JPEG/RAW Import

Postby HikingMike » Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:11 pm

OK I got it :oops: I had to go up to view menu and start mesing around and hit View Toolbar then I was able to hit the down arow on right as you said. Thanks!!
Mike "The Squirrel"
Canon 550D | Canon EF 35mm 1:2 | Canon 50 f/1.8 II | Sigma 18-125mm DC OS | Tamron SP 70-300mm Di VC USD | Canon 430EX II
Military Issued Canon 40D | Canon 55-250mm IS
User avatar
HikingMike
 
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 4:15 pm
Location: Kanduhar, Afghanistan

Re: Lightroom 3 Only Shows RAW after JPEG/RAW Import

Postby Maestro » Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:15 pm

Glad you got it figured out. I guess it's true that a pic is worth a thousand words.

Mark
Maestro
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:29 am


Return to Imaging and Video Editing Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest